Saved to Favorites

(423) 892-3128Visit WebsiteMap & Directions6240 Perimeter DrChattanooga, TN 37421Write a Review

More Info

Life is better outside!

General Info
The Great Backyard place is your one stop shop for all your backyard needs. From inground and above ground pools to spas and patio furniture, we have it all! Since opening in 1953 The Great Backyard place has been the areas largest retailer of pools. Stop by today and see what we have in store!
East Tennessee's one-stop shop for luxurious backyard living year round! We are a leading provider of family backyard leisure products including Aboveground Pools, Inground Pools, Spas, Patio Furniture, Pergolas, Fireplaces, Kitchens, Shade products, Pool Supplies, Service, and Maintenance. Locations in Chattanooga, Cleveland, Maryville, and Knoxville, TN. We also turn into the area's premiere Christmas store, showcasing beautiful decor, permanent trees and more!
Agio, Artesian Spas, Doughboy, Housewarming Outdoors, Meadowcraft, NCI, Patio Renaissance
Payment method
check, debit, financing available, all major credit cards
Off Lee Hwy exit, all the way at the end of Perimeter Drive (under the huge Pool Place billboard)
Woodmore - Dalewood
Pool & Spa Maintenance. Mold killers. Dream backyard builders. Family time supporters.
Best of the Best 2011 and 2012 - Patio Furniture BBB Accredited Business- A Rating!

The Pool Place

Other Information

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Parking: Self, On Site, Free

Bike Parking: Yes

Pets Allowed: No


Hi there!
Rate this business!
What do you rate this business?First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Jeannine R.



Bought a pool there this summer of 2016. It is now called The Great Backyard Place. Our salesman Charles Leveille was very helpful and I will use him from now on. I will recommend here to any family or friends.



Great Folks.

Tori was amazing. She took great care with us by showing us the products that we would need and have options as well. Very impressed with her knowledge of the chemicals and the process. THANKS.

Sharon T.



My husband and I have had a largely trouble-free Artesian spa for 17 years and LOVED our nightly date under the stars! When we moved to North Atlanta recently, we found ourselves missing it more than we could have imagined! After reconnoitering the Atlanta area, we found The Pool Place price, even with long-distance delivery, to be a tremendous value ~ and we already knew the great product quality and people there!! The spa was delivered and installed by great professionals who took time to instruct and equip us in using all the great new feature advances since our last purchase! We cannot say enough good things about the new spa AND the wonderful people at The Pool Place! They've equipped us for a daily mini-escape under the stars, and we couldn't be more thrilled! Thank you, Frank May!!

Stacey P.



The Pool Place should give classes on Customer Service because after going to their competitor around the corner to price match, I didn't realize how spoiled we were with the Pool Place. The Pool Place always has smiling, helpful & knowledgeable associates. The Pool Place does not get upset or feel burdened when a customer walks in unlike their competitor. Thank you Pool Place for such a pleasant experience every time me or someone in my family walk through your door, you will always have our business!



The staff is always very helpf...

The staff is always very helpful with pool parts and water sampling. We have been using their recommendations to balance our pool water during the year and especially when we close the pool at the end of the year. It has gotten progressively easier to open our pool with a minimum of expense each year since following the staff's directions. It's always fun to look at the Christmas decorations each year.



I was most impressed with the ...

I was most impressed with the sales support provided by Doc and Jason prior to and following our spa purchase from The Pool Place. It was delivered about 6 months ago, we use it 5 or 6 times weekly and it has met our needs well. While the equipment has been reliable, there have been a few occassions where I needed technical assistance. On each occassion Michael in their service department has fully satisfied our needs. We are glad to have chosen Pool Place as our spa supplier.



The Pool Place staff is great....

The Pool Place staff is great. I have never owned a pool before this year, and they walked me through all the options and features, then let me choose what I wanted to purchase based on those features. Now that I have the pool, Sarah checks my water every time I come in and tells me exactly how to keep the water balanced. The pump went bad not too long after the pool was installed, but Greg helped me through it all and gave me a new pump at no charge! I don't go anywhere else.



We were careful about where we...

We were careful about where we did business and decided in the end that the Pool Place had the best value and seemed to be the most honest people. We were right! My only complaint is that our pool was a week later being installed than we thought it would be but Jason was helpful along the way. We love our pool!



Do not purchase a pool from Th...

Do not purchase a pool from The Pool Place in Chattanooga. My hisband and I purchased an in ground pool, that totaled $25,000.00. Just as the previous person they were so nice to take our money, and said we our pool would be started in 2 weeks.... After having to call and visit The Pool Place several times we finally got an installer to show up. But, he didn't come back or call until my husband called The Pool Plce back. The installed Scott called and left a message that he was so busy this week and that he could not make it this week . We went to The Pool Place today and were told Scott is the owners husband. Oh well apparently they didn't want our $30,000.00 + so we cancelled our order and got our money back.....

Terrible Service!!!!!!!!!!!

claimed iconBusiness Response08/24/2011

SusanTerry, I do apologize for the lack of communication you experienced. There have been a few customers who have felt this lack of communication, and we have taken steps to improve for the future. Again, I am sorry that you feel this way about The Pool Place. I do my best to take care of every customer, and at times the ball gets dropped. We have given training since on how to take care of our customers from start to finish, and our employees understand that purchasing a pool from us should only be the beginning of your customer relationship, because we have a duty to help you, the customer, understand how to care for your new pool for years to come. Scott is our installer for all Inground Pools, and as such, he has a vested interest in taking care of every inground pool customer. I will ask you not to jump to conclusions on his abilities, because he is a superb installer and, from what I've found, the best installer in Chattanooga. Again, I am sorry that we were not able to satisfy your pool needs, and I'm sorry that I was made aware of your frustrations too late in the process to help facilitate your installation. I assure you this is not the normal operating procedures, nor the normal experience from The Pool Place staff and installers.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


we ordered a pool about 3 week...

we ordered a pool about 3 weeks ago and they were so friendly and helpful, UNTIL we paid for the pool and left. Haven't heard anything from them since. They said that it would be about 2 to 2 1/2 weeks before delivery and set up, That was fine with us. I know the tornados set them back. Well, I call them last week just to check on the status and they say the installer has picked it up and would be calling us. Great!!, Well, 5 days later we still haven't heard anything, so I call again and they say they will call the installer and call me back...nope not a word from anyone. My husband calls and asks to speak to a manager and the gentleman he was talking to wouldn't put one on the phone!!!! He instead put him on hold to try to call the installer and never came back to the phone! my husband eventually hung up, the guy never called us back either. I am not upset about not having the pool yet because I know the weather hasn't been very good lately BUT what upsets me is the total lack of communication they have. They have absolutley no customer service skills at all. I will never buy anything from them again, not even a float or chemicals or anything! I am so afraid that when we do get the pool and if by chance something goes wrong with it, how we are supposed to get the problem resolved! I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. I would have rather spent a little more money and went somewhere else.

claimed iconBusiness Response08/22/2011

After reading your review, as the manager, I do apologize. That would have been frustrating for anyone. We make every effort to service everyone equally and timely and occasionally we do fail to deliver on time. This season was especially difficult because we witnessed a 100% increase in sales in the latter part of May and early June which created a massive backlog very quickly both with installation as well as our suppliers. We had simply not anticipated such a massive increase in so short of time. That said, a lack of communication complicates and frustrates relations. People like you , decent folks understand that things happen, rain, wind, supply shortage, but when you are left in the dark it creates frustration and fear. Again, I apologize and ask that you come and see me personally in the Chattanooga store and I would like to apologize for our poor communication in a more meaningful way.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Top gun

I have been shopping with the Pool PLace for years. I can always count on them to know what they are talking about. Also, I trust them because they don't seem to be pushing their agenda on me, they really try and save me money and help me make good decisions. That's a big deal to me, especially compared to what I'm used to getting.


Phone: (423) 892-3128

Address: 6240 Perimeter Dr, Chattanooga, TN 37421

Website: Primary Website

People Also Viewed